World Series Game 6: Mission 27, Accomplished

Now Playing: New York, New York [ Frank Sinatra ]
‘If I can make it there, I’ll make it anywhere;
It’s up to you, New York, New York.’ 😉

     Apropos song choice, no? I figured it would be. =)

gameend1104 01b.png     Wednesday night, we were all rewarded grandly for this 2009 season. The Yankees became World Champions for the 27th time in their illustrious history. What more can be said? Honestly, I don’t think there’s anything you could possibly say to encompass the emotion, passion, and thrill that went into this entire season. Who else could be more deserving? This team, this 2009 dream team, deserved it. We, the fans who waited nine long and torturous years for this to happen again, deserved it. The people responsible for making this team what it was this season deserved it. And last but certainly not least, The Boss deserved it. What a way to come back from no playoffs in 2008 to winning it all in 2009. Absolutely incredible.

gameend1104 03b.png     Game 6 and its epic-ness basically fall on the shoulders of one person: Hideki Matsui. He straight ripped ish up. Three hits, 6 RBI. He was named the MVP of the World Series. I can only imagine what that must’ve felt like, especially with all the speculation about whether or not he’s gonna be back next season. He certainly made a case for himself this entire year. I still can’t really comprehend the game he had. Ridiculous.

     Of course, we can’t forget about ol’ Southern Comfort himself, Andy Pettitte. A member of the Old Guard/Core 4, whatever you wanna call them, along with Derek Jeter, Jorge Posada, and Mariano Rivera. He pitched a hell of a game despite giving up those three runs. I don’t think I would’ve wanted anyone else on the mound for this game except him, and of course Mariano as well. It was only fitting that Pettitte would get the third clinching win of these playoffs to give him an 18-9 record in the postseason [which is the most wins by any pitched in the playoffs, mind you].

     And now, with the parade over not too long ago, baseball has officially ended [cries out loud]. But, now the counting down can begin. 150 days until Opening Day 2010. 90-and-some-odd days until pitchers and catchers report. Hot stove coverage begins next week. I’m actually looking forward to this offseason and getting even more enveloped in baseball than I already am. So, I will leave you with some photos from the end of Game 6. Look for another post tomorrow with pictures & other stuff from the parade [I wish I was at]!


– Later Bloggeroos!


gameend1104 08b.png
gameend1104 04b.png
gameend1104 06b.png

gameend1104 02b.png

11 comments

  1. feverspell

    I don’t think there’s anything better than knowing your team is the best. We had the best record in the AL, the best record overall, and now we’re the World Champs. All is right with the world. The delicate balance has been restored to the universe.

    //And now, with the parade over not too long ago, baseball has officially ended [cries out loud]. But, now the counting down can begin. 150 days until Opening Day 2010. 90-and-some-odd days until pitchers and catchers report. Hot stove coverage begins next week. I’m actually looking forward to this offseason and getting even more enveloped in baseball than I already am. So, I will leave you with some photos from the end of Game 6. Look for another post tomorrow with pictures & other stuff from the parade [I wish I was at]!//

    You can check out my blog for right now, I just put pictures of the parade up. If the various photo sites I visit update their stock, and better quality pics of some of the guys come up, I’ll update the post.

    96 days until pitchers and catchers report. I wonder what I’ll do until then? LOL, it seemed like after every season we all sat around talking about whether the Yankees could win it all and now we get to sit around and talk about whether the Yankees could win it all…..AGAIN!

    Beth
    http://yankeeschick.mlblogs.com

  2. redstatebluestate

    “Don’t mess up centaur’s hair”… LOL! Now THAT’S the type of Yankee fan I can stand to be around — one with a sense of humor. What digs me are the ones who are ruthlessly mean about their stance as the greatest sports franchise of all time. Yeah, I get it. Thanks. Good job, Lisa! As always, your pics/captions put a smile on my face. Keep up the good bloggin’ work and don’t quit now… we iz just gettin’ started!
    –Jeff
    http://redstatebluestate.mlblogs.com/
    http://mtrredstatebluestate.com

  3. Jane Heller

    Today did put a period on the season, Lisa. Watching the parade was exciting and I’m still pinching myself that the Yanks won #27, but now I’m officially looking ahead to what’s next. It’s easier doing that than thinking about the players cleaning out their lockers. Boo hoo!

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  4. devilabrit

    There is obviously the initial euphoria of the winning night, but for me the greatest part is the parade and celebrations at the end of the parade, that is when you get to see how the players feel about the win… but what I want to know is…what the F*ck is that dude with the FOX microphone doing in the middle when the guys are having their moment….:-)
    As always you choose the appropriate music… still think your ipod has nothing but oldies on it…LOL
    ~peter
    Outside the Phillies Looking In
    http://devilabrit.mlblogs.com

  5. ibleedpinstripes

    96 long days, Beth… Ugh. I don’t even wanna think about it. The picture you put up are great, thanks so much! =D I’m looking forward to the offseason, only to see what it brings for next season!

    Aw, thanks Jeff! You’re too kind! LOL. Don’t worry. I’ll try not to slack on the job during the offseason. =)

    It looks like I’m gonna have to start looking ahead too, Jane. I’ll be plastered to MLBNetwork and YES whenever I can be, no doubt about it.

    Got that right, Peter! I so wish I was there. Oh well. And as far as the gnome-like man in the middle of that shot, I have no idea. He’s obviously lost or something. And my iPod is not quite full of oldies, but a good percentage of it is! I can appreciate some good tunage, ya know? =)

  6. ibleedpinstripes

    That’s very true, Virginia. I love this team, and it’s so sad to see them go, but at least most of them will definitely be back next season. Hopefully there’s a repeat in our future. This offseason should be an interesting one!

  7. NYYyakkinblog

    I don’t think there will be too many changes to the 2010 Yankees but it would be very nice to see some additions. After what occurred in the 2009 off season I can’t wait to see what the front office can do for season number 2 in the House that George Built.
    Yakkin’ About The Yankees
    http://sweetchinmusic.mlblogs.com

  8. ibleedpinstripes

    I hope that’s the case, Yakkin’. This is one offseason I’ll actually be following quite closely. I’m thinking it’s gonna be a good one!

Leave a comment